

## ANZSRS AWARD & GRANT WINNERS ANNOUNCED!

Following an incredibly successful Annual Scientific Meeting, the Board would like to take a moment to formally recognise and congratulate the winners from the ASM awards and the most recent grant & CRFS recipients.

## **ANZSRS Ascencia Education Grant**

The ANZSRS Ascencia Education grant is offered to encourage and support those working in the field of respiratory science who seek higher qualifications relevant to their work. This grant is funded by Ascencia Ltd sponsorship. The 2022 grant recipient is:

Vahid Sharifi

## **ANZSRS Advanced Education Grant**

Established by the Board in 2011, the Advanced Education Grant is offered to encourage and support continuing education of respiratory clinical physiologists who have completed their core training and are intending to advance their skills and education in the more complex areas of pulmonary function testing. The 2022 grant recipient is:

Jenny House

# The ANZSRS Jeff Pretto Memorial Research Grant

The ANZSRS Jeff Pretto Memorial Research Grant is offered to encourage and support research in clinical and/or laboratory-based respiratory science by Society members. This award is granted in memory of Dr Jeff Pretto, Fellow ANZSRS (1/8/1959-7/3/2014). Jeff was an inspiration to his peers and students alike, and his attitude to research and discovery helped foster numerous careers. The 2022 grant recipient is:

• Leigh Seccombe

## **ASM Awards**

There are a number of awards presented at the Annual Scientific Meetings to acknowledge the scientific contributions of our members to respiratory science. They 2022 recipients include:

- Tamara Blake, Winner of: The Best Oral Presentation Sponsored by Niche Medical
- Brendan Kennedy, Winner of: The Best Poster Presentation Sponsored by Bird Healthcare
- Jacqui Kleiner, Winner of: The New Investigator Award Sponsored by Bird Healthcare
- Kris Nilsen, Winner of: The Robert Jensen Excellence in Respiratory Science Award –
  Sponsored by Robert Jensen

## 2021 CRFS Awardees

The Certification Examination for Respiratory Function Scientists (CRFS) was developed to assess the professional knowledge of physiologists performing clinical respiratory function testing and to set a uniform minimum standard of knowledge appropriate to the competent performance of basic respiratory function testing in Australia and New Zealand. Congratulations to the following people who successfully achieved their CRFS in 2021:

- Jessebel Chan
- Kristal Parmenter
- Xiaohui Liu
- Alyssa Tieppo
- Nicky Brielding
- Erika Chillcott
- Aleasha McCulloch
- Audrey Quinlan
- Elizabeth Smith
- Nathan Krupa
- Amy Bertolin
- Aisha Khan
- Casey Jenner
- Elizabeth Witherden

- Jason Barker
- Inez Pikaar
- Shamila Wijayasiri
- Angelina Dawoodjee
- Sarah Murphy

Congratulations again to all Award, Grant & CRFS recipients! A very heartfelt thank you goes to our sponsors who continue to support our society and without their support, we would not be able to offer such generous grants & awards. Thank you Ascencia, Bird Healthcare, Niche Medical and Robert Jensen.

Keep an eye on the Member's portal for future grant opportunities!





